TREATS or TRICKS! – First Jack O’laterns

Hello Gators!

Who is excited for this coming Halloween? If you have never gone to a Halloween party, you will really miss a lot of things guys! Halloween parties are one of my top desired events at GRC, because they are very fun and interesting! However, please do not be sad if you guys do not have the opportunity to join the party this year. I am pretty sure there will be tons of spots in Fall 2019. Unfortunately, I will be unable to attend the Halloween party this year :( but my co-writer Russel, will definitely go to the event and show you guys how it went!

In today‘s blog, I will not talk much about the Halloween party in GRC. Instead, I will share more about my valuable experience of carving my first Jack O’laterns with Russel! It was very new for Russel and I to pick up and design our own pumpkins. The process was very interesting and especially unique for us. First of all, we had no idea how to carefully carve the pumpkin, so our homestay parents taught us how to engrave the pumpkin perfectly.

Here are the steps for designing our pumpkins:

1. Wash and dry the pumpkin
2. Draw the outline of our desired-design with erasable marker.
3. Cut out the lid of the pumpkin.
4. Scoop out all the internal pulp.
5. Start cutting the outline carefully.
6. Wipe all of the internal and external dirts on the pumpkin.
7. You are all set!
Tips: Make sure you have something underneath the pumpkin while you are engraving, and you can also buy the special tools to carve your pumpkin easier and faster.

Here is our process of designing our first Jack O’lanterns!

 

Go Go Gators!

maxresdefault


Leave a comment