Memorial Day

It was Monday and it was a holiday. Isn’t that great!!! :)

It is a Memorial Day. I’m sure you never heard of this day before. Well, me neither until I came here. ^^

Memorial Day is  a day of remembrance for those who have died in service for the United States (www.usmemorialday.org). It sounds sad and patriotic, but it seems like the people here don’t really celebrate this day. Instead, i think they took it as a family day. When I went to one of the shopping centre nearby, I saw a lot of families with their children everywhere. The shopping centre was very crowded, even more crowded than on Saturday or Sunday. I could also see the sale sign on almost every store. Businesses seems to have taken this day as a chance to attract consumers to buy their products.

I was benefited from this too. I bought a lot of souvenirs for my family. It’s just two weeks more before I graduate and I’ll be back in Indonesia. So it was a good day for shopping. :p

Leave a Reply

