Happy Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is the day when you feel thankful for evrything that you have. For your family, friends, food and really everything. It is when family gather and eat together. The main dish of thanksgiving dinner is usully turkey and many other typical american agricultural products like potatoes, yams, corns, etc. This culture has been around since centuries ago when the pilgrims first came to U.S. At that time, the Indian teach them how to survive the winter and plant their own food. To express their gratitude, the pilgrims cooked and served different foods and invite the indians to have dinner. Since then onwards, thanksgiving become part of the U.S. culture and when Abraham Lincoln was the president, he decided to set every third thursday of November to be the thanksgiving day.

On thanksgiving day, my host family had to go for thanksgiving dinner at their parents’ house and so they decided to have thanksgiving breakfast instead. At the same time, I was also invited to have thankgiving dinner at my friend’s host family house. So, it was just perfect. Well, anyway, the breakfast was very delicious. We had bicuits, saussage and gravy for the main dish. My host mother’s biscuits and gravy are the best of all. Even the restaurant’s biscuits and gravy can’t be compare with it. My friend that I invite for breakfast alsso enjoyed them. We also had blueberry cobbler for dessert. That morning was just wonderful. We had a great breakfast, and chatted and took picture. It was fun. I had a great time and this give me a good memory since I rarely spent time with my host family.

In the evening, I went to my friend’s host family’s thanksgiving dinner. She also invited several korean students. There were 10 of us and her host family was very nice. They were very friendly and gave us a very warm welcome. The dinner was very wonderful too. This time, I really had turkey. When I first saw it, I was so shocked. The turkey is super big (you can see how big it was from the photo). It was bigger than basketball. I think it was almost like 2 basketballs in 1. Don’t you think so?? :p Anyway, besides turkey, her host mother cooked a lot of other side dishes like yams, potatoes, spinach, beans, bread, etc. There are a lot and all of them looks very delicious. Before we have our dinner, they told us the story about thanksgiving. How thanksgiving comes about and what each dishes represents. It’s interesting. I got to learn new culture and had a great dinner at the same time.  We spent the rest of the night talking and eating with each other.

                                     

I am very thankful that I have a very nice thanksgiving day. I am thankful for my family, my parents that have sent me here and provide me with everything that I have right now. I am thankful for my brothers and sister that always support me. I am thankful for my friends that have been there for me. And I am also thankful to everyone that have helped me throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

