Let me present to you, STRANGELY AND JEREMIAH!
America, GRCC and surroundings, Having fun

Event: Northwest Folklife Festival 2013

Last Sunday, 25th May 2013, my friends and I went down to Seattle to see the 42nd Annual Northwest Folklife Festival. Basically, this is a festival that is held every Memorial Day weekend at the Seattle Center; it celebrates the art and culture of the Northwest. They have everything from arts, music, dance, circus acts…you name it.

The 42nd Annual Northwest Folklife Festival

The 42nd Annual Northwest Folklife Festival

The thought of a culture festival really appealed to me, and since it is my last quarter anyway, I thought I should see the festival while I can. Hence, I spent the day at the festival with three of my Photography Club friends—Carol, Jonathan and Zack. We finally arrived at the Seattle Center at noon, and my first impression? Wow, this is interesting. I saw all kinds of people from all walks of life. There were the occasional nerds with the glasses, chinos and neat shirt. There were the college jocks with the varsity jackets and jeans. There were the little kids with their t-shirts and hoodies. And of course, there were the hipsters with colorful sunglasses, plaid shirts, skinny jeans, fedora hats, and all sorts of funky accessories.

What we did when we first arrived was pretty much walk around. There were crafts vendors, food booths, dance and music panels, workshops, and there were also live music. I think all in all, I have two favorite acts from the day. The first one is a live performance by Strangely and Jeremiah. Well, who are they, you might ask. They are quite literally, Strangely and Jeremiah; as in two guys whose names are Strangely and Jeremiah. I don’t know whether they are brothers, father and son, uncle and nephew, best friends, or what, but I thought they had quite an interesting show going on. It involves a lot of ukulele playing, singing, ukulele juggling, and, oh…the usual standing-on-top-of-the-other-person-while –playing-the-ukulele thing.

Strangley and Jeremiah doing their weird stuff

Strangley and Jeremiah doing their weird stuff

Let me present to you, STRANGELY AND JEREMIAH!

Let me present to you, STRANGELY AND JEREMIAH!

Ever seen someone juggle ukuleles before? No? Neither have I.

Ever seen someone juggle ukuleles before? No? Neither have I.

My other favorite act was this jazz band; I think they called themselves the ten men jazz band. At first, I didn’t think there was anything special about them; they just played jazz songs with their trumpets, saxophones, trombones, clarinets, and whatnot. But then, towards the end of the performance, they started to play a very, very, very popular song by Macklemore. They played Thrift Shop. The crowd suddenly went wild and starting singing along. To be honest, I’m not a big fan of rap music in general, so Thrift Shop isn’t exactly my kind of thing, but I can’t help but sing along just because it’s so catchy.

Aside from that, the festival was simply amazing. All the performers were wonderful; I think Jonathan even made a remark along the lines of, “Why don’t I see these people on other days? Where did they disappear?” I truly agree with him. I think these people are just so incredibly talented, if I could watch them perform every week or every month, I’m sure life would be more colorful. Well…alright. You got me. I’m exaggerating. But seriously, the performances were wicked.

This was actually the first performance I saw!

This was actually the first performance I saw!

I don't think she was part of the act, but she just suddenly started dancing in front of everyone!

I don’t think she was part of the act, but she just suddenly started dancing in front of everyone!

He had this weird floating ball thing going on; it was really cool!

He had this weird floating ball thing going on; it was really cool!

Not your usual hula hoop dancing.

Not your usual hula hoop dancing.

Another performance that caught my eye was two little girls. They played the cup song from the movie Pitch Perfect, and next to them they had a sign that said “Raising money for a new bike. Thank you!” I just thought they were really cute. There was also this old man who had a booth where children could play a unicorn game. He had a sign that said, “STOP. UNICORN DANGER. DO NOT WALK BEYOND THIS SIGN WITHOUT A WEAPON.” Being the dangerous and adventurous wannabe photographer that I am, of course I walked behind and took a photo of him.

The Cup Song!

The Cup Song!

DANGER: UNICORNS AHEAD.

DANGER: UNICORNS AHEAD.

In terms of the food vendors, I think they were really good. I only bought two food items there, because as always, the food at festivals are slightly more expensive than usual. The first food I tried was chicken satay from a Thai booth, and the second one was elephant ears…yum, yum. If you’ve never tried elephant ears before, well then I suggest you at least try it before you transfer out of the state. You will regret not trying it—trust me.

All in all, it was a wonderful experience, probably one I will never forget. I didn’t think I will, but I’m surely going to miss this place after I transfer.

-Indira

For more photos, check out my Flickr page: flickr.com/photos/dirascorpio | Email: ipranabudi@greenriver.edu

Standard

Leave a Reply

